Life Lesson from a Donut


Jelly Donuts:

1 Sam 16:7  The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.

I love donuts, jelly donuts to be more specific.  Nothing beats a lemon or strawberry frosted donut (with coffee of course).  One thing about jelly donuts: while they often look the same from the outside, the inside is very different.  We call them all donuts, but we tell them apart by what is inside.  You can guess what kind of donut it is, but without seeing what is inside it is sometimes hard to tell what kind of jelly is inside.

Read More

We are like donuts.  We are the same on the outside, but what is important is what is on the inside.  It doesn’t matter what we look like on the outside.  We can act like we are friends with someone, but on the inside we don’t like the person and we talk about them or make fun of them later.  We can pretend to have Jesus in our life, but when we are away from church we can lie, cheat, and disobey.

I may be able to fool you, but I can’t fool God.  You might be able to fool me, but you can’t fool God.  I might sometimes ‘judge a book by its cover’ but in reality. God is the only one who can see past our outside facade to who we really are on the inside.

Are you a lemon or strawberry filled donut?  Do you try to be something that you are not? Are you trying to trick people and hide who you really are?

Next time you have donuts for breakfast, you will have a great opportunity to share this little lesson. Or next time you are with a group of kids, bring a jelly donut with you and ask what kind it is.   Pair that with 2 Samuel 16:7, and you have an object lesson they won’t soon forget.

Do you have a great idea for an object lesson?  Let me know. I am always looking for more great ideas.

If you liked this idea, I have several others here

7 Responses

  1. My waistline did not like this article . . . but I did.

    • Glad you liked it! Teaching the kids a life lesson is always worth a few extra calories. Thanks for reading

  2. I don’t like jelly doughnuts, but I liked your post.

    • Thanks for reading! Do you like pies? Lots of fruit pies look the same until you cut into them. Or cake, you can’t tell what kind of cake until you slice it. Maybe I just have a thing for desserts!

      • Actually I am more of beef kind of guy. I prefer birthday steak over birthday cake

  3. Dude, I am on a diet and training for a triathlon…the picture of the donut is causing me to stumble.

    With that said, something I took from this is that every family is different; but also, on the surface not everything is what you see. It is a wonderful analogy and I appreciate the post!

    • Sorry about the donut, but the picture does help prove the point!
      The analogy holds true for people, but you are right, it is also true for a family as well. You can’t judge a book, or a person, or a family, by its cover.
      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

