Kids need GRAPES


I am all for kids eating more fresh fruit, but that is not what I am talking about when I say kids need more GRAPES.

If you have read some of my earlier posts, you will know that I have been substitute teaching for the last few months. Several years ago I taught Spanish and Computer classes in a k-8 private school.  I have also had quite a bit of children’s ministry experience.

I recently sat down and thought about some things that kids need.  I am specifically thinking from a ministry perspective, but several of the points are very valid in a school education setting, as well as a home setting.

After much conversation, thought, and prayer, here is what I came up with.  Kids need grapes.

God.  God and His word have to be the base of your ministry.  If He is not, anything you do will be in vain.

Relationship.  Your kids need to feel loved.  If they know you care for them, they will be open to hear what you say.  A     relationship gives you a voice to speak into the lives of your kids and their families.

Acquire knowledge.  Your kids need to learn.  Part of ministry is teaching your kids about God and His love for them.

Prayer.  You need to be praying for your kids.  They need it.  They have very real problems and issues, just like adults. They also need to learn how to pray on their own as well.

Entertainment.  Kids need to have fun.  The truth is we live in a ‘Disney’ world, and they are used to a certain standard of fun.  Fun is not the ultimate goal, but it is a necessary vehicle to carry your message.  A bored kid is an unhappy kid.

Safety.  Kids need to feel safe.  That  includes a safe physical as well as a safe emotional environment.  Do all you can to provide a safe place.

So there you have it.  Kids need GRAPES.  In no particular order, kids need: God, Relationship, Acquire Knowledge, Prayer, Entertainment, Safety.

If you were asked what do kids need, how would you answer?  What did I forget? 

2 Responses

  1. As a retired military guy I really appreciate acronyms cause it’s easier for my aging brain to remember! Thanks for the GRAPES, Ron.

    • The acronym is easy to remember, but not so easy to come up with. It took a while to figure that one out. Glad I took the time, because it is so easy to remember now.

Leave a comment