Prayer Experiment


So I am reading ‘The CircleImage Maker’ by Mark Batterson.  It is a GREAT book if you haven’t read it.  It is making me think about the way that I pray.  I realize that I am often very generic with the prayers I pray.  One thing I have learned this week is that the more non-specific my prayer is, the harder it is to know if that prayer gets answered. Another mind blowing truth:  100% of the prayers I don’t pray don’t get answered!  I have also learned that God may choose to answer my prayers differently than I had hoped or thought he should, and his timing is perfect, and mine is not.

Last night I read a passage that talked about “Prayer Experiments”.  The idea is to get a group of 10 people that share a single prayer request with each other.  The group then prays for that single request for each person for a set period of time (1 month,  2 months, etc).  At the end of the decided time, the group in the book was able to share great breakthroughs and answers to their prayers. 

That made me think—why not try our own “prayer experiment”?  I am wondering if there is anyone that would like to try this for a month.  You agree to pray for a few other people, and they agree to pray for you, whatever that one request is that you would like to share.  I don’t know about you, but I can always use extra prayer. 

Matthew 7:7-11 “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.  “Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake?  If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!

Matthew 18:20  For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them

James 5:16 16 Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

John 14:12-13 Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.  And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.

I know there is no magic formula to getting your prayers answered.  I know that sometimes it seems like God answers everyone else’s prayers and not mine.  I also know that God’s ways are higher than my ways, and I may not always understand, but I will keep seeking him

If you would like to participate, let me know.  Send me your email address and your prayer request and if you choose a little about yourself (my email is ronbrooks77@gmail.com). If we get more than 10 people, I will put everyone into groups.  I will send out your email address and prayer request to the rest of the group, and then the prayers can begin! I don’t know about you, but I am getting excited and feel like some prayers are about to get answered! 

Leave a Reply

