Remembering Grandma, 9/11, and more


Memories

This was a difficult weekend for me. The anniversary of when my grandma passed away was not long ago.  Today is the 10th anniversary of 9/11.  There have been a lot of memories recalled this weekend.

I am reminded of the fear and confusion that the terrorist attacks caused 10 years ago.  I remember where I was and what I was doing that day.  I remember the countless lives lost that day.  I remember the men and women serving to protect us every day.   I remember my grandpa was not able to attend my wedding November 10, 2001 because he was afraid to fly.

I remember my grandma.  I remember her smile.  I remember how she could turn the shrug of a shoulder and the tap of a foot into a dance.  I remember the songs she would sing.  I remember the silly jokes she would tell.  I remember her giving me a dollar every spring when I saw the first robin.  I remember the joy she brought with her wherever she went.  I remember how much she loved Jesus, and how much she loved me.

I shouldn’t allow what happened on 9/11 to keep me off of a plane.  I should not live in fear of other attacks.  I cannot dwell on the past, but I will never forget what happened.

I cannot continue to be sad about my grandma.  I know that she is dancing with Jesus now, and I will see her again someday.  But I will never forget her.  Our past is very important. It makes us who we are.  But we can’t look backward if we want to move forward.

There is danger if we try to hold onto the past.  Just ask Lot’s wife.  Her past was so important to her that she could not leave it behind.  The cost for her was high, she lost her life.  It is difficult to move forward when you are looking back.  Genesis 19:26 But Lot’s wife looked back, and she became a pillar of salt.

Luke 9:62  Jesus replied, “No one who puts a hand to the plow and looks back is fit for service in the kingdom of God.”  I do not think we need to try to block out our memories.  It is our experience that makes us who we are.  It is our past that has brought us to the place we are now.  You are going to move in the direction that you are looking though. If you are plowing a field, you need to look in front of you.  If you are looking behind you, it will be difficult to move forward.

Keep your eyes on the prize.  Continue to move forward.  Do not forget, but do not look back.

The events of 9/11 changed my life.  Those events changed the world.  But those events made us stronger.  We don’t need to live in fear, we don’t dwell on the past, but we never forget what happened to make us who we are.

My grandma is gone.  She made a tremendous impact on my life and countless others.  She will be greatly missed, but she will never be forgotten.

Paul said it well when he said  “I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus. I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.” (Philippians 3:13 The Message)

Post a comment—I would like to hear of the memories you hold onto that made you who you are today.

Leave a Reply

